DC Health

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Basic Life Support Psychomotor Exams


With the adoption of the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) certification requirement in the District, The EMS Division has also adopted the NREMT practical examination standard. In November of 2011 the NREMT issued the updated Basic Life Support (BLS) psychomotor examination guidelines for Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) and Emergency Medical Technician (EMT). The policy outlines the EMR and EMT examination standards adopted by the District of Columbia, based on the NREMT guidelines. These standards were effective on October 1, 2012.

All EMR and EMT certification courses seeking NREMT certification are required to conduct a practical skill examination in addition to a written examination. These examinations must comply with both District and NREMT standards.

Below are the policies for the EMR and EMT psychomotor examination procedures. We would encourage you to download the handbooks for the certification level exam you intend to review. Also available are the forms that are required to be used during the examination.

Related Services: 
Service Contact: 
Emergency Medical Services Division of the Department of Health - HEPRA
Contact Phone: 
Contact Fax: 
Contact TTY: 
Contact Suite #: 
Suite 300
Office Hours: 
Monday to Friday, 8:15 am to 4:45 pm