Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


DC Health

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Mayor Gray Releases First Emergency Medical Services Report for the District of Columbia

Wednesday, July 20, 2011
The report details programmatic strides toward improving EMS services, education and performance.

Today, Mayor Vincent C. Gray and Department of Health (DOH) officials released the District of Columbia Emergency Medical Services Moving EMS Forward 2010 Report.  Moving EMS Forward is the first emergency medical services report released by the District, reflecting the hard work, innovation and dedication of the city’s emergency medical services system. 

Emergency Medical Services play an integral role in addressing a significant number of emergency health concerns in the community. The District’s EMS infrastructure is an intricate system comprised of trained professionals, transportation and communications networks, hospitals, trauma centers and specialty care centers working in coordinated partnership to provide high quality pre-hospital medical care to District residents.

Moving EMS Forward provides an overview of EMS and ambulance services in the District and details the various strides made toward improving continuing education standards, establishing a new District Scope of Practice Policy and adopting important quality improvement measures through legislation, regulation and policy change.  

EMS 2010 Report Highlights

  • The District consistently exceeded the national pass rate for the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technician certification exam.
  • The national average for the first attempt passage of this exam is 68%. The District surpassed the national rate with a 77% pass rate and continues to score high marks into 2011.
  • In November of 2010, the District became one of the first jurisdictions to officially adopt the National EMS Scope Practice for all EMS providers.
  • By adopting new Scope of Practice policy, the District is now able to provide four EMS provider levels in accordance with the National EMS Scope of Practice model, which includes the Emergency Medical Responder, Emergency Medical Technician and Advanced EMT and Paramedic.   

Select the following link to read the District of Columbia Emergency Medical Services Moving EMS Forward 2010 Report.